Skip to main content

Interior of steam pumps at Louisville Pumping StationAfter two years of work, SSRG and Louisville Water Company celebrated the official reopening of Louisville Pumping Station No. 3. Located on Zorn Avenue, this historic pumping station required comprehensive repairs and renovations.

Look back at the project’s progress.

First opened in 1919, the project’s completion timed perfectly with the station’s 100th anniversary. In its time, the industry considered the pumping station cutting-edge technology. The giant steam engine featured an Allis Chalmers Triple Expansion Pump. The pump moved millions of gallons of water but was not as loud as others in the industry. With its capacity and efficiency, the station became known as the “Quiet Giant.”

Check out SSRG’s award-winning earlier work on Pumping Station No. 1

SSRG crew members led masonry, roofing, and window repairs and replacements. The historic renovation presented unique challenges because much of the work took place on or over a river. Not to mention, the project faced four different flooding events.

Regina Stivers, Deputy Secretary of the Tourism, Arts and Heritage Cabinet, praised the project. “Louisville Water’s historic buildings are community landmarks, and we are very grateful for their stewardship of these important structures,” said Stivers. “The Crescent Hill Reservoir and Gatehouse and 1860 Water Tower, and now Pumping Station No. 3, give residents and visitors visual histories of important eras in Louisville’s timeline.”

Pumping Station No. 3 is still operational and open to the public as part of the Louisville WaterWorks Museum. The official reopening of Louisville Pumping Station No. 3 was celebrated on October 3. A public centennial celebration occurred on Sunday, October 6 and featured tours of one of the last remaining steam engines of its kind.